Be aware of email Order Scams if you’re in business on the net!

7 09 2010

I recently received the following email from what I thought was a interested customer. A few things within the email raised flags to me.

From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Order Request
To: guards@viewithere.com
Date: Thursday, September 2, 2010, 8:24 PM

Hello Good Day
My Name is Gary Hartwell and I will like to know whether you carry ( Guards ) in stock for sale. If yes, email me back each size and with the prices of (1) attached to it so that i will let you know the size and quantity i  will be ordering. I want to know if you do accept credit card as the method of payment.

Best Regards
Gary Hartwell

One question I had with the email was “why is Guards in brackets?” Sometimes in spam they use brackets as a way of customizing a generic email. Also right away I had to wonder why I was not asked about wholesale pricing? I did answer him though – just in case it was legit.

Hi Gary,

We do have ring guards in stock. We offer pricing per 1 item or discounts on more then 1.

You can see all the prices at
http://viewithere.com/ring_guard/ringguard.html

info on the sizing at
http://view-it-here.blogspot.com/2010/05/what-size-ring-guard-should-i-buy.html

We also do accept credit card sales. Thanks for the inquiry and have a great day.

Frances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”

Within 5 minutes He responded with the following

From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Total Cost Needed
To: “View it Here.com (F. Howes)”
Date: Thursday, September 2, 2010, 8:53 PM

Hello Frances,
Thank you for your respond  well am interested in the Ring Guards 1 Medium Yellow 14k-gf  $5.25 and i will like to order 1200 pieces for this and i want to know the total cost of the 1200 pieces excluding freight. Thank you

Best Regards
Gary Hartwell

By this time I knew it must be some sort of scam and searched around (I googled his name and email) and found an interesting link http://www.steam-brite.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1388 which not only had the exact form email but his name and email were right on the list! (mind you he is now on his 22nd gmail account). This would be a $6000+ order and at no time was wholesale pricing requested – if it seems to good to be true – it usually is!! I emailed him back to see how far it would go (and to try to get more info on this Gary Hartwell)

Hi Gary,
That order would be $6300. If interested we’ll send you an email request for payment to this email. Thanks again

Frances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”

Based on the scam, I knew what would follow – a request for using their shipper ( by the way cooltoad.com is not a shipping company site – it’s a domain adsense page – So now google is not only providing the scammer with emails it also is paying them per click on ads from their fake domain!!).

From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Contact Shipping For Quote

To: “View it Here.com (F. Howes)”

Date: Saturday, September 4, 2010, 2:46 AM

Hello Frances,

I will like to order the Units ( 1200 Units Ring Guards 1 Medium Yellow 14k-gf $6300 ) .. And i will recommend a freight company for the pick up of the Units to to my Company in ( Sweden ) . Now i want to you to contact them with the total weight of the Units and find out the freight quote to Sweden for me . The delivery address is below :

Gary Hartwell S.O.S Home
# Ridmansgatan 42
Stockholm, SWEDEN  114 99

Freight company email address : continental_cfreight@cooltoad.com

And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote . As soon as you her from them let me know so that i can proceed with transaction

Best Regards
Gary Hartwell(owner)

Well, well! What would he do if I offered free shipping? Which I would on such a large order! (plus I had already searched the freight companies domain name) Also the address seems to be for many different people & companies which I found at this link http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-404-397-1969/10

Hi Gary,

Your order comes with free shipping so no quote is needed. Your total order is $6300.

Frances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”

What customer would refuse free shipping on their order? WHO? WHERE? …no one that’s who!

From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Contact Shipping For Quote
To: “View it Here.com (F. Howes)”
Date: Tuesday, September 7, 2010, 5:02 PM

Well i want use my freight company for the shipment. Advice asap

HUH….he is not happy with our free shipping? why the heck not? I emailed him back to explain why it is such a good thing.

Gary,

We use our own shipping company so all our order destinations can be tracked and logged. I’m sure this will be no issue, it’s our way to protect such a large order from false credit card purchases. Also when/If this occurs our shipper can work directly with police providing the drop off address to provide police with the necessary info.

I’m sure this will benefit your company as it protects you against fraudulent orders made with your credit card.

Alternatively you may send us a certified check or money order for the amount and your shipping/freight company can be used. Thanks again

Frances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”

FUNNY! I never heard back! If you happen to run an internet business and are excited because you thought you got a huge sale – take a deep breath and research your buyer! Get a phone number, talk to them directly, research the info provided! It’s easy to “google” someone (everyone does it). Always remember if it seems too good to be true….it usually is!

I hope this post helps in educating online businesses on this particular order scam – I’d hate to hear of someone falling for it and then finding out they are out of pocket – not only for the merchandise shipped but also for the shipping quote!!

Actions

Information

69 responses

26 04 2011
Andrew B

Gary just bothered me too at my website, http://www.gongs-unlimited.com

29 04 2011
Admin

Hi Andrew – he’s still at it that’s for sure. Under many names so watch out. Nice site by the way – I hope you do well :)

3 05 2011
Irene

Thank you so much for posting this.

The same email address requested our current inventory, then placed an order completely contradicting what we have in stock. When he requested a total not including freight, the red flag went up. As we at times get large bulk orders, whenever freight is mentioned I know it is a scam. I googled his email address and found your article.

I sent him a price quote with the URL to this article. Hopefully, he will find a real job.

3 05 2011
Irene

Thank you so much for posting this!

The same email account sent us a request for current stock and then a follow up email ordering an item that completely contradicted the inventory report. Once he mentioned pricing without FREIGHT, I knew where this was heading. I googled his name and came across your article. Many Thanks for saving my time.

I forwarded him a Price Quote, along with the URL to this article. Hopefully, this person will find a real job and stop scamming companies.

5 05 2011
Admin

Hi Irene,
Glad you didn’t get caught up with these guys! They never expect people to share info and unfortunately most don’t which is why their scam has been going on for years!

19 07 2011
Rod Kidman

Ierene,
yahoo!! smart and savvy business people. he used the name “Larry Jackson” with our company trying to purchase 20 swimming pool pumps and shipping them via westarco cargo freight company shipping out of South Africa. Totally fraudulent.
you can smell these guys a 100 picas points away….

24 07 2011
Dave

THanks for posting this…just avoided being scammed…also replied telling ‘Francis’ what I thought of him..shouldn’t repeat it here!
Thanks again

28 09 2011
Thomas

They found us too!!

Hello ,
Thank you for the reply , Well i am okay with the total price of the Stamps and i want the Opition 2 well I will like you to contact Westarco Cargo freight Via their email [ westarcocargofreight@live.com or westarcocargofreight@rocketmail.com ] with your store location,the total weight on the and Stamps .the delivery address below and request for a freight quote. Please let me know how much it will cost me in totality to have these Stamps to the address below

The delivery address is as Follows :
Rev Jon S.O.S Home
#Ridmansgatan 42. City, Stockholm.
Country, Sweden.Postal/Zip Code, 114 99.

And as soon as you get the freight quote email me back with the grand total.Hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards
Robert Bunn

19 10 2011
Admin

Now it looks like the scammers are going by Reverend now!

9 11 2011
Randi Spurgeon (@mamanbeauty) Twitter

He is going by Larry Moore with me. I have been actually talking with him on the phone. I run an organic beauty company and thought it was a bit fishy to want to send 457 jars of cleansing cream to an orphanage in Sweden. He has tried to use two different credit cards which I have not accepted, his phone numbers are invalid, his email leads to no one, and at the “orphanage” address there seems to be a TV station.
It is hard to earn a living these days running your own business, without jerks like this trying to cheat us out of our hard earned money.

21 11 2011
Admin

Glad you did not get sucked into it Randi! I agree It is hard to earn a living these days running your own business, without jerks like this trying to cheat us out of our hard earned money.

24 01 2012
eva weiss (@parisimages)

He just hit me up too .. now his name is John Hands. Thanks so much for posting this. I just saved myself a real hassle.

25 01 2012
Admin

Glad to hear He is having such a hard time finding new victims!

24 01 2012
Laura Lenhausen

He is going by Fred Bates with me. I am running an online store selling Diaper Cakes and thought it to be a bit fishy when he wanted to order 30 (Diaper Cakes) and have them sent to Sweden. He also contacted me by telephone wanting to give me the credit card information over the phone for payment. Here is the emails he sent to me please beware of the scam.

Dear Customer,
My name is Fred Bates and this order is an individual order. and i
like to make a purchase of a (Diaper Cakes) and i will be more happy
if you can email me with the types and Prices that you have for sale
as well….Please let me know if you do accept credit card as a form
of payment, and that will be pick up at your location..Hope to read
back from you soon..

Kind Regards,
Fred Bates.hanks to see your mail again , and i have check through your website and i will go for the item below :

Princess Castle Diaper Cake
Princess Castle Diaper Cake
Click to enlarge image(s)
This charming Princess Castle Diaper Cake makes a perfect gift for a new baby girl! What a perfect way to welcome a tiny new princess than her very own little castle? This elegant and practical diaper cake makes a stunning centerpiece for a Little Princess baby shower theme.

Included in this 4 tier Princess Diaper Cake:

Approximately 50 Nature BabyCare Eco Friendly Diapers (Size 1)
Natursutten Natural Rubber Pacifier Size 0-6 months
Under the Nile Organic Monkey.

SKU: DC051

and i need 30 pcs and so advise me if you accept credit cards as well so that we can proceed .

Waiting to hear from you soon .Thank you for the reply , Well i am okay with the total price Of Diaper Cakes ,well I will like you to contact Westarco Cargo Freight Via their email [ westarcocargofreight@rocketmail.com or westarcocargofreight@live.com ] with your store location,the total weight on the Diaper Cakes with the delivery address below and request for a freight quote. Please let me know how much it will cost me in totality to have these Diaper Cakes to the address below .

The delivery address is as Follows :

Bishop Jon S.O.S HOME
Medborgarplatsen 25 plan 5
Stockholm 11892
SWEDEN

And as soon as you get the freight quote email me back with the grand total.Hope to hear from you soon.

NB: I have Calculated and am okay with the price and so let me know the shipping cost as well so that we can proceed from there ASAP.

Best regards,
Fred Bates
90 river st
Montipilier Vt 05602

25 01 2012
Admin

thax for the updated info! There seems to be a ring of scammers using the same story

6 02 2012
James

He is now going by Jim Bates, aka Jim Beat or John Bates. Thank you Laura for posting the address, that is how I found this site after doing a failed search on the shipping company.

Thank you for the reply , Well i am okay with the total price Of Items ,well I will like you to contact Westarco Cargo Freight Via their email [ westarcocargofreight@rocketmail.com or westarcocargofreight@live.com ] with your store location,the total weight on the Items with the delivery address below and request for a freight quote. Please let me know how much it will cost me in totality to have these Items to the address below .

The delivery address is as Follows :

Bishop Jon S.O.S HOME
Medborgarplatsen 25 plan 5
Stockholm 11892
SWEDEN

And as soon as you get the freight quote email me back with the grand total.Hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards,
Jim Bates

Total scammer

17 02 2012
Jason

Here he is again leaving this message going by the name Ray Howland
Thank you for the reply , Well i am okay with the total price Of Items ,well I will like you to contact Speedway Cargo Shipping Via their email [ speedwaycargoshiping@gmail.com with your store location,the total weight on the Items with the delivery address below and request for a freight quote. Please let me know how much it will cost me in totality to have these Items to the address below .

The delivery address is as Follows :

Bishop Jon S.O.S HOME
Post bus 9823
Amsterdam
Netherlands

And as soon as you get the freight quote email me back with the grand total.Hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards,
Ray Howland

12 07 2012
Patty Wunsch

He’s also a she. I got the same type of large order of engravable gifts from Linda Johnson of Ridmansgatan Sweden. She referred me to her shipping company, Mediterranian Shipping company whose shipping charge would have been more than the cost of the package, and she was okay with that.. All correspondance was ASAP, many mispelled words. lousy grammar even from the shipping company.

19 07 2012
Admin

It’s great we are keeping on top of this scammers personalities! Thx Patty!

28 08 2012
threedeep1998

I work for a furniture company and the new name appears to be “Daniel Schneider”. Literally the same messages… gave him a quote without shipping, and then asked for it again. Googled the freight email he provided and it led me to this blog post!

30 08 2012
Admin

I can’t believe it’s been 2 years since this post was made and the scam is still going on! I hope everyone who deals with large orders from unknown sources do a bit of research first! I know just the
basic info shared about this scam have saved a lot of people a big head ache!

6 09 2012
Bob

Hi Everybody,

Its Fred Bates now. I included the addresses so if anyone searches they will find this site too! Can you believe how incredibly stupid that this person thinks we are? I hope that they don’t get anyone to fall for this crap! As that would really bother me to send someone like this any money!

I had this before and got at least a couple of the credit card numbers from them so I could get them cancelled for the people that had their card numbers stolen!

If we can keep other informed I think that’s all we can do…Its those assholes getting the elderly etc that really get me pissed off!

Subject: Water hose Urgent Order

Hello C/S
Am Fred Bates, i will like to order Water hose…..
and so advise me with the types you have and also the price range as
well so that we can proceed with this order .

NB: Kindly advise me if you accept credit cards as well .

Fred Bates
Dempsey Little

8 09 2012
Admin

To keep updating this page is about all I can think of doing to inform people of these scams!

I just hope people research when an order seems to be even a little bit funny. If we can keep; the fake shipping company names, the form type emails they send, and names or email addresses updated then a simple google search will show what they are up to.

Thanks!

28 09 2012
Danny Cook

Here is the email I received from “Linda Johnson”

LINDA JOHNSON lindajohnsonstore@gmail.com
Aug 11

to me
Hello,
Thanks for your reply back.I can’t wait to have your lovely products
in our store for my customers.Below listed is the items i want to
order for and will want you to get back to me with total cost
+shipping cost and i can provide you my credit card for you to charge
and have my order ready and i can carry your product in our new
inventory for our numerous customers.

MY ORDER…………

Chocolate Caramel
qty…..20

Chocolate Covered Coconut Caramel
qty…..20

Assorted Handcrafted Chocolates
qty…..20

Chocolate Walnut Caramel
qty…..20

Pecan Puddles. 12 Piece Cello Bag.
qty…..20

Chocolate Peanut Clusters
qty……20

You will only find these at Candy by Gram.
qty…….20

MY ADDRESS FOR THE SHIPPING QUOTE………

Ostra Jarnvagsgatan 37 | Box 310,
Stockholm 10126, Sweden

Hope to read back from you with the total cost and we can proceed and
finalized my order.
God bless you

13 10 2012
Cris

Hello there, I received this email today and thought it was a bit strange. Found this google post. So here is the latest name they are using, for some reason they like Sweden!

E-mail address: divinestore02@gmail.com

Message: Hello,
How are you today, my name is Alexandra Daniel the owner of DIVINE STORE LTD,i will like to order for some products in your company,but before i proceed i will like to know if you can supply and ship to Stockholm SWEDEN and if you accept credit card as method ofpayment.I will be glad if you can email back with the current price sheet and the list of items you have available in stock at the moment or a link to your website where I can find

Kindly advise me ASAP, so i can proceed with the list of needed products.

Regards
Alexandra Daniel
DIVINE STORE LTD
Ridmansgatan 876.
Stockholm.
Zip Code 114
Sweden
Email:divinestore02@gmail.com
+4608620540987
web:under construction

22 10 2012
chris

His new name is James Ryan

24 10 2012
Eddie

Here is one email we had received this morning.
Hello,
How are you today, my name is Alexandra Daniel the owner of DIVINE STORE LTD,i will like to order for some products in your company,but before i proceed i will like to know if you can supply and ship to Stockholm SWEDEN and if you accept credit card as method ofpayment.I will be glad if you can email back with the current price sheet and the list of items you have available in stock at the moment or a link to your website where I can find

Kindly advise me ASAP, so i can proceed with the list of needed products.

Regards
Alexandra Daniel
DIVINE STORE LTD
Ridmansgatan 876.
Stockholm.
Zip Code 114
Sweden
Email:divinestore002@gmail.com
+4608620540987
web:under construction

We do not sell anything on line! We are a construction company. But it is always good to expose these scams and hopefully stop someone falling foul of these despicable people.
keep up the good work!

24 10 2012
George

Had the same one.

Never accept credit card payment from abroard. There are insufficient credit check available. Insist on BACs, it get’s rid of these people.

Hello,
How are you today, my name is Alexandra Daniel the owner of DIVINE STORE LTD,i will like to order for some products in your company,but before i proceed i will like to know if you can supply and ship to Stockholm SWEDEN and if you accept credit card as method ofpayment.I will be glad if you can email back with the current price sheet and the list of items you have available in stock at the moment or a link to your website where I can find

Kindly advise me ASAP, so i can proceed with the list of needed products.

Regards
Alexandra Daniel
DIVINE STORE LTD
Ridmansgatan 876.
Stockholm.
Zip Code 114
Sweden
Email:divinestore002@gmail.com
+4608620540987
web:under construction

24 10 2012
Debra

Uh uh his new name is Alexandra Daniel you can contact him on divinestore002@gmail.com thank you so much for posting this we got his mail yesterday and due to the very bad spelling and grammar a warning bell went off straight away also we hand make large timber buildings to order so it was strange that he should ask for our current items for sale doh he obviously hadn’t even been on our website as he asked for a link this guy must have acquired a mail list from somewhere once again keep this thread going its invaluable for small businesses like ourself

24 10 2012
kingsbathroomltd

Hi ,

Thanks for this post – this is a similar email we received yesterday…. 23dr October 2012

Hello,
How are you today, my name is Alexandra Daniel the owner of DIVINE STORE LTD,i will like to order for some products in your company,but before i proceed i will like to know if you can supply and ship to Stockholm SWEDEN and if you accept credit card as method ofpayment.I will be glad if you can email back with the current price sheet and the list of items you have available in stock at the moment or a link to your website where I can find

Kindly advise me ASAP, so i can proceed with the list of needed products.

Regards
Alexandra Daniel
DIVINE STORE LTD
Ridmansgatan 876.
Stockholm.
Zip Code 114
Sweden
Email:divinestore002@gmail.com
+4608620540987
web:under construction

24 10 2012
Philippa

It’s just another example of the “Nigeria Scam” – alternatively known as the 419 scam (being the number the Nigerian Police assigned to the scam!). We received a similar enquiry for 2000 bibles a decade ago! The saying “If it seems to be too good to be true, it probably is” rang in my ears. Why would he want 2000 bibles, and, even if he did – why was he looking to me to buy them from, why not go to the publisher direct! So, rather than get excited at making a quick and easy buck, I looked into it, and nothing was evidencable. But a neighbouring town mayor had to be rescued from Nigeria having gone to meet the people he was about to do a deal with, only to find himself kidnapped and held to ransom. A local newspaper ran the good news story, that we’d got our man back. Anyone who knew more about this though will know he had expected to get rich quickly, and should have been ashamed of himself!

24 10 2012
chris

Hello Chris,

I will like to order the Units ( 5 ABACO Item Number: BSR010 $6,782.86 ) .. And i will recommend a freight company for the pick up of the Units to to my Company in ( Sweden ) . Now i want to you to contact them with the total weight of the Units and find out the freight quote to Sweden for me . The delivery address is below :

ST’ James and Sons Inc
# Ridmansgatan 42
Stockholm, SWEDEN 114 99

Freight company email address : continental_cfreight@live.com

And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote . As soon as you hear from them let me know so that i can proceed with the transaction.

With Kind Regards
James Ryan

On Mon, Oct 22, 2012 at 12:27 PM, Chris Frankovich wrote:

Hi James,
Attached is a quote for 5 ABACO BSR010 excluding freight
We accept all types of credit cards, charge a $2.00 surcharge for the use of AMEX cards only all others are accepted free of charge.

Chris

8 11 2012
Lingerie Off Price

from lindajohnsonstore@gmail.com

Hello,
How’re you?I want to purchase an order from your company to our store
in The sweden .I want to know if you can ship international and also
your form of payment?e:g…Credit card.
Await your reply back asap.
Thank you and God bless you.

Yours

linda

Fortunately, we saw this post! Thank you!

21 11 2012
roughbykasdorfs

Thank you for sharing! I was contacted by Linda herself at the lindajohnsonstore@gmail.com! She wanted to know if I ship products internationally from http://www.kasdorfs.com. I don’t have international shipping setup in my shopping cart, so initially I thought it was a legit inquiry. I got so excited that a store in Sweeden was interested in my product, but as you said, if it’s too good to be true, it probably is. Thank you for the warning!

2 12 2012
Allan Lund Sørensen

He has also been visiting my e-shop to http://www.microtec.dk

Exactly the same company name and address. Same wording in the mail, but now the name Alexandra Daniel.

9 12 2012
Goodnighties

Thank you so much for posting! We need to all help each other from these types of scammers!! We just got an inquiry for Goodnighties Recovery Sleepwear from ‘Linda Johnson’ (Store) from Sweden! yikes! I did not respond. Business is tricky enough today – We actually had a legitimate store in New Zealand connect with us last week so this was a possiblity until I checked.
A few months ago we had a big order request from ‘Kristi’s Boutique’ from the Ivory Coast of W. Africa- I also checked that one (fortunately) – a full on scam! will be frequently checking here! Let’s stick together! :) Thank you again! Sarah@goodnighties.com

10 12 2012
Alexander Patron

Just got this email from lindajohnsonstore@gmail.com today:

Hello,
How’re you?I want to purchase an order from your company to our store in The sweden .I want to know if you can ship international and also your form of payment?e:g…Credit card.
Await your reply back asap.
Thank you and God bless you.

Yours

linda

(same exact email as the ones above. thanks for posting. probably scam)

12 12 2012
Admin

I find if you tell them you only ship through your shipping they stop emailing. I usually say “for your protection we only use our approved shipper so all orders can be tracked in case needed”

11 01 2013
James

Just had the following this morning, so Alexandra Daniel is still be used:

Hello,
How are you today, my name is Alexandra Daniel the owner of DIVINE STORE LTD,i will like to order for some products in your company,but before i proceed i will like to know if you can supply and ship to Stockholm SWEDEN and if you accept credit card as method ofpayment.I will be glad if you can email back with the current price sheet and the list of items you have available in stock at the moment or a link to your website where I can find

Kindly advise me ASAP, so i can proceed with the list of needed products.

Regards
Alexandra Daniel
DIVINE STORE LTD
Ridmansgatan 876.
Stockholm.
Zip Code 114
Sweden
Email:divinestore002@gmail.com
+4608620540987
web:under construction

14 01 2013
Arjen

They are also active in the Netherlands. It seems like all gmail accounts which place an order are currently fraudulent.

I received the same e-mail from Alexandra Daniel from Divine Store ltd. divinestore002@gmail.com

Found this blog, and know what to answer now: GOTCHA.

They seem to get more and more active the past year.
Hope no one will ever send them products or accept their way of shipment.

Good luck!

16 01 2013
Danny

Hi

We have recieved the same email for fire extinguishers from our site sspdirect.co.uk

Very nearly got to the point of sale until ‘Alexandra’ asked us to pay his shipping company via western union.

A more naive employee may have made a BIG mistake here.

Beware

16 01 2013
Ria

He is now using Roger Ortiz…..

Dear Customer, My name is Roger Ortiz The reason why i contacted you is in regards to the purchase of some Tile i want to order from you.Below is my specification for the Tile: 400 SQ FT OF 12 BY 12 3/8 INCH THICKNESS BLACK TILE. I am Donating this Tile to Orphanage Home, I will like you to kindly respond to me with the total Pickup price of the 400 Pieces Tile plus tax only. Kindly respond to me with the type of Credit Card payment you accept. Hope to hear from you soon Best regards Roger Ortiz

24 01 2013
Jay

They almost got me just now, he is going by Scott Cent and its the exact same scam. SO glad I googled the address and found this blog!!! We have an ipad carrying case company (Sherpa Carry).

28 01 2013
Kim

Bless you for posting this – Linda Johnson store just emailed us. I googled the name and found your post. I have passed on your post to everyone I know. All the best to all of you.

4 02 2013
Jim Warren

And Can you believe that Jim Moore now wants to buy 15 Statistical Sampling Boxes for Sweden? No body every orders this quantity, but this guy wants to. It would be like ordering 14 black boards for a class room. So here is the email I received. So I google the address and thankfully this article comes up.

Hello Jim,

I will like to order the Units ( (15) large sampling boxes SB-6 $6750 ) .. And i will recommend a freight company for the pick up of the Units to to my Company in ( Sweden ) . Now i want to you to contact them with the total weight of the Units and find out the freight quote to Sweden for me . The delivery address is below :

ST’ Jim and Sons Inc
# Ridmansgatan 42
Stockholm, SWEDEN 114 99

Freight company email address : evergreenfreightco@live.com

And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote . As soon as you her from them let me know so that i can proceed with transaction.

With Kind Regards
Jim Moore

27 02 2013
Mary Boardman

Thank you for the heads up about Linda Johnson Stores. She placed a large order with us 2/26/2013 that I won’t be processing / sending. She gave me her address as

Vesterbro 12 C, Aalborg, Denmark, 9000

-Mary

Here was my latest e-mail when I asked for the official name of her store and what kind of products she was selling:

Hello,
Thanks for your reply back.The name of our store is Linda Johnson
Stores Ltd. We’re new and just springing up,we don’t have a website
yet. But we’re planing to expand to other parts of the world in the
near future where we can have our website up and running.

Await your reply back

Thanks


Hello,
How’re you?I want to purchase an order from your company to our store
in The Denmark, .I want to know if you can ship international and also
your form of payment?e:g…Credit card.
Await your reply back asap.
Thank you and God bless you.

Yours

linda

1 03 2013
Joanne Green

Yesterday, we received the same request from LindaJohnsonStore@gmail.com requesting shipping to denmark. This morning, they wrote again, asking to double their original request. This morning again, we received the IDENTICAL email from yet another email address… SweetCarrsst@yahoo.com requesting shipping to the Netherlands.

BEWARE!!! Don’t fall for it!

20 04 2013
Mike santarella

With Regards to your Company This is David Turner i sending you email regarding to Order Granite counter tops and i will need you to fabricate some counter tops for me and as soon as it is done and paid for it will be picked up from your locations so i will need you to get back to me with the total qoute for the following counter tops without installation but i need the total cost with tax only and i will handle the installation my self.. This is what I need.

Absolute Black Island 36 X 76 with Full Bullnose edges… Granite
Absolute Black Island 42 X 84 with Full Bullnose edges… Granite

And I will like to order those and i will handle the installation my self so i will need you to get back to me with the pick up price for the two counter tops and? and I will be looking forward to your reply ASAP.

Best Regards
David Turner
David Shop Lnt
email :davidshoplnt@yahoo.com

25 04 2013
KRISS

They almost got me today. I would have never gave a credit card to any email named cool toad which is right when I caught it. Made me look really bad at work though. I sent all their info to the FBI, and I had phone numbers and everything. The part that would have cost us the most is I almost had all those parts made. Thank God I caught it.

26 04 2013
Admin

Glad you caught it too! We need to keep the names and emails this scam is using updated for all of us.

26 04 2013
sharon atherton

Hey everyone… RE LAUREN MOORER scam………I too got an email asking to send a catalogue (wholesale). I asked for proof of trade status and sent a generic catalogue with NO prices – they promptly ordered 220 bars of soap anyway….I had a gut feeling that she would be trouble as she didnt seem to understand that i only use PAYPAL!!!
it went reasonably well until they asked me to use their own shipping company to ‘THE’ SWITZERLAND at 3 times the cost of parcelforce!!! – then came the emails asking to pay via western union…. really?? – alarm bells were ringing at 2000 decibels!!!

I am a brand new company, and for a day or so i was excited about my first wholesale order….. PLEASE PLEASE be aware of these idiots …

I presume they use stolen cards, pay themselves via the fake courier company/western union and you get hammered for money laundering…..

Shaz
Soap & Candle Company

26 04 2013
Admin

good for you Sharon! I go by the rule “If it seems too good….then research the hell out of it” *L* Glad you were being Savy and did not end up sorry.

20 05 2013
mo

Hello,

Thank you so much for your email, Well I have use their services for about 4 Years now and I will like to contact them but the reason why i can not contact them is because they do you accept emails from individuals but from companies where they will be picking the order because when them come for the pick up you will sign for the shipment and when the order is shipped its will be no more your responsibility and i will like you to know that i will be payment for the freight cost so all you need is to contact them and get me the freight quote to enable me to proceed with the payment. Hope you understand and waiting for the freight quote to proceed.

Regards.
Colin

— On Mon, 5/20/13, **************** wrote:

From *************
Subject: Re: Enquiry from ********
To: “Colin Morgan”
Date: Monday, May 20, 2013, 9:48 AM

Hi Colin,

Please note we can not accept an oversea cc payment for the given purchase order, a bank transfer would be acceptable,

On 20 May 2013, at 17:08, Colin Morgan wrote:

> Hi,
> Thank you very much for your email, am okay with the £3,570.00. And I will like to recommend a freight company and see how much it will also cost. (SPEEDWAYCARGOFREIGHT@GMAIL.COM ) for the pick up of the items to ( The Netherlands ). Now I want you to contact them through their email address with the information below and request for the freight quote. Please contact them with the information below.
>
>
> 1. The pick-up address
> 2. The delivery Address below
> 3. The total weight on this shipment
>
>
> Shipping Address
> C&M Ventures Inc
> Johan Huizingalaan 765
> 11020 GP Amsterdam
> The Netherlands
>
>
> Shipping Company Contact Info.
>
> Contact Person Name: Mr. Bill Brower
> Freight Company Email Address: SPEEDWAYCARGOFREIGHT@GMAIL.COM
>
> Try and CC me a copy of what you will be sending to the freight company. And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote .As soon as you hear from them let me know so that i can proceed with the transaction . I will make payment with my Credit Card..
> Thank you.
>
>

20 05 2013
mo

I sent him this response.

Hello Colin,

Thank you for your order.

I have great pleasure in offering you FREE SHIPPING and a 99% Discount!

We therefore do not need any of your shipping details, simply pay by BANK TRANSFER ONLY,

We do NOT accept credit cards from Accra in Ghana I’m afraid.

(I had tracked his originating IP on the email message header)

22 05 2013
Admin

Mo! Good hacking job! Not many people know how to see where an email is really coming from!

22 05 2013
Maria Silva

As As I say, always Google the company name, contact name or shipping company they want you to use, before you take any action, when in doubt, ask for payment up front & run their credit card, I bet it will come back with Transaction failed, or , “cannot process transaction at this time”. & you will now is it a bogus company.
& their emails are usually full of errors.

22 05 2013
Maria Silva

You will know is it a bogus company.
sorry about that..:(

1 08 2013
amazon items

It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

9 12 2013
tian

Now he is called: PATRICK MILLS [patrickmills78@yahoo.com]

***********************
Thank you for email, am okay with the 8pcs costing $1,160.00. And i will like to recommend a freight company for the pick up of the items to (The Netherlands). Now i want you to contact them with the total weight of the items find out the freight quote to The Netherlands for me .The delivery address is below :

1. The pick-up address
2. The delivery Address below
3. The total weight on this shipment

Shipping Address
C&M Ventures Inc
Johan Huizingalaan 765
11020 GP Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Shipping Company Contact Info.
Contact Person Name: Mr. Jerome Brower
Freight Company Email Address: SPEEDWAYCARGOFREIGHT@GMAIL.COM

And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote .As soon as you her from them let me know so that i can proceed with the transaction.I will make payment with my Credit Card.

Thanks and Best Regards
Patrick Mills
***************************************

24 12 2013
Paula Slater

We received three of these scam emails by a Patrick Mills also, patrickmills78@yahoo.com. He sent them as ‘bulk emails’ no less, asking for information about our sculpture display pedestals. We get these things all the time. Same ole, same ole scam.

2 01 2014
Donald

Yep, just got an email from Patrick Mills wanting to buy 15 of my Custom Knives. His email was patrickmills78@yahoo.com

8 01 2014
mcswood

I ‘m glad I found this. I just got a 2nd. response frm;
Patrick Mills to buy 20 of my custom knives.
Same email addy.
I’ll send him back an email for him to buy one at reg. pricing
INCL. shipping, payment through Paypal only.

8 01 2014
mcswood

This is the response I got;
Thank you for email, am okay with the $===. And i will recommend a freight company for, the pick up of the items to (The Netherlands). Now i want you to contact them with the total weight of the items find out the freight quote to The Netherlands for me .The delivery address is below :

1. The pick-up address
2. The delivery Address below
3. The total weight on this shipment

Shipping Address
C&M Ventures Inc
Johan Huizingalaan 765
11020 GP Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Shipping Company Contact Info.
Contact Person Name: Mr. Jerome Brower
Freight Company Email Address: SPEEDWAYCARGOFREIGHT@GMAIL.COM
Try and CC me a copy of what you will be sending to the freight company. And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote .As soon as you her from them let me know so that i can proceed with the transaction.I will make payment with my Credit Card.

Thanks and Best Regards
Patrick Mills
Phone : # 7084018564

28 01 2014
Todd K

Patrick Mills tried to scam me too. Lets put a stop to this!!

29 01 2014
Dick

We received the same “Patrick Mills” scam:
Thank you for email, am okay with the $5,800.00. And i will recommend a freight company for, the pick up of the items to (The Netherlands). Now i want you to contact them with the total weight of the items find out the freight quote to The Netherlands for me .The delivery address is below :

1. The pick-up address
2. The delivery Address below
3. The total weight on this shipment

Shipping Address
C&M Ventures Inc
Johan Huizingalaan 765
11020 GP Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Shipping Company Contact Info.
Contact Person Name: Mr. Jerome Brower
Freight Company Email Address: SPEEDWAYCARGOFREIGHT@GMAIL.COM
Try and CC me a copy of what you will be sending to the freight company. And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote .As soon as you her from them let me know so that i can proceed with the transaction.I will make payment with my Credit Card.

Thanks and Best Regards
Patrick Mills
Contact Address
D&A Enterpises ltd
225 Squires Student Center
Blacksburg, VA 24061
United States
Phone : # 7084018564

The shipping address did not check out (it was the IBM building in Amsterdam), the address for “Patrick Mills” didn’t check out. Someone did answer the phone number listed, but didn’t learn anything from that person that was credible.
I asked for the name, company, phone and e-mail for the recipient, and didn’t get a response to that.
PURE SCAM
I’m sending a note that we are turning the information over to our state’s Attorney General.

31 01 2014
Forest

I am currently am in the middle of this same scam! The names are different, but everything else is the same. I accepted his credit card before I caught on….so I have $7825 of his money.
The credit card was from his “partner”. I was not provided with his number, and I can’t verify his identity. I talked to my credit card company, the bank, the bank of the credit card….and no one helped. They said to use my best judgement.
So I now have to figure out how to refund the money, without loosing out on fees.
The name given was Patrick Mills.
The shipping company is Speedway Cargo Freight.
The delivery was supposed to go to Amsterdam.
The scam: they pay me for product and shipping. Then I pay for shipping with their money. The shipper is fake and never picks up the product. At some future date, the credit card company realizes the card is fake or stolen….and demands a “charge back.” I would have to pay back the entire amount, even though I gave the shipping company $3000.
Good luck out there!

31 01 2014
Admin

Forest I am so sorry this is happening to you! I hope you have not sent any payment to the shipper. If I were you I would call my CC merchant – tell them that you need to process a refund due to them letting a fraudulent process go through. Since they did not catch it (and you did) no fee should be charged. Then I would fight and argue until I got my way – threatening to go to the press with tales of their “credit protection” of their millions of customers. I hate that this scam is still circulating – as you can see this post is 4 yrs old!

26 02 2014
Lonnie

Thank goodness I searched before going ahead with this scam!! THANK YOU so much for posting this thread!!! Saved me a lot of money and heartache! This is a copy of the last email I received from “Patrick Mills”

Hello
Here is the information for the Invoice below,But i need the quote excluding shipping cost since I will have them to be picked up by a recommended
shipping company.?

Contact Address
LifeWay Christian Resources
One LifeWay Plaza
Nashville, TN 37234
United States

DELIVERY ADDRESS
C&M Ventures Inc
Johan Huizingalaan 765
11020 GP Amsterdam
The Netherlands

I think this information is can work for the Invoice for this order.
Regard

Patrick Mills
Phone : # 7084018564

Again THANK YOU!!!!

27 02 2014
Admin

Lonnie, I’m glad to hear you did not get caught up in this scam! Pass on the word so no one else has to find out the hard way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

