I recently received the following email from what I thought was a interested customer. A few things within the email raised flags to me.
From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Order Request
To: guards@viewithere.com
Date: Thursday, September 2, 2010, 8:24 PMHello Good Day
My Name is Gary Hartwell and I will like to know whether you carry ( Guards ) in stock for sale. If yes, email me back each size and with the prices of (1) attached to it so that i will let you know the size and quantity i will be ordering. I want to know if you do accept credit card as the method of payment.Best Regards
Gary Hartwell
One question I had with the email was “why is Guards in brackets?” Sometimes in spam they use brackets as a way of customizing a generic email. Also right away I had to wonder why I was not asked about wholesale pricing? I did answer him though – just in case it was legit.
Hi Gary,
We do have ring guards in stock. We offer pricing per 1 item or discounts on more then 1.
You can see all the prices at
http://viewithere.com/ring_guard/ringguard.htmlinfo on the sizing at
http://view-it-here.blogspot.com/2010/05/what-size-ring-guard-should-i-buy.htmlWe also do accept credit card sales. Thanks for the inquiry and have a great day.
Frances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”
Within 5 minutes He responded with the following
From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Total Cost Needed
To: “View it Here.com (F. Howes)”
Date: Thursday, September 2, 2010, 8:53 PMHello Frances,
Thank you for your respond well am interested in the Ring Guards 1 Medium Yellow 14k-gf $5.25 and i will like to order 1200 pieces for this and i want to know the total cost of the 1200 pieces excluding freight. Thank youBest Regards
Gary Hartwell
By this time I knew it must be some sort of scam and searched around (I googled his name and email) and found an interesting link http://www.steam-brite.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1388 which not only had the exact form email but his name and email were right on the list! (mind you he is now on his 22nd gmail account). This would be a $6000+ order and at no time was wholesale pricing requested – if it seems to good to be true – it usually is!! I emailed him back to see how far it would go (and to try to get more info on this Gary Hartwell)
Hi Gary,
That order would be $6300. If interested we’ll send you an email request for payment to this email. Thanks againFrances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”
Based on the scam, I knew what would follow – a request for using their shipper ( by the way cooltoad.com is not a shipping company site – it’s a domain adsense page – So now google is not only providing the scammer with emails it also is paying them per click on ads from their fake domain!!).
From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Contact Shipping For QuoteTo: “View it Here.com (F. Howes)”Date: Saturday, September 4, 2010, 2:46 AM
Hello Frances,
I will like to order the Units ( 1200 Units Ring Guards 1 Medium Yellow 14k-gf $6300 ) .. And i will recommend a freight company for the pick up of the Units to to my Company in ( Sweden ) . Now i want to you to contact them with the total weight of the Units and find out the freight quote to Sweden for me . The delivery address is below :
Gary Hartwell S.O.S Home
# Ridmansgatan 42
Stockholm, SWEDEN 114 99Freight company email address : continental_cfreight@cooltoad.com
And including the pick-up location and they will surely get you a freight quote . As soon as you her from them let me know so that i can proceed with transaction
Best Regards
Gary Hartwell(owner)
Well, well! What would he do if I offered free shipping? Which I would on such a large order! (plus I had already searched the freight companies domain name) Also the address seems to be for many different people & companies which I found at this link http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-404-397-1969/10
Hi Gary,
Your order comes with free shipping so no quote is needed. Your total order is $6300.
Frances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”
What customer would refuse free shipping on their order? WHO? WHERE? …no one that’s who!
From: Gary Hartwell <gary.hartwell22@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Contact Shipping For Quote
To: “View it Here.com (F. Howes)”
Date: Tuesday, September 7, 2010, 5:02 PMWell i want use my freight company for the shipment. Advice asap
HUH….he is not happy with our free shipping? why the heck not? I emailed him back to explain why it is such a good thing.
Gary,
We use our own shipping company so all our order destinations can be tracked and logged. I’m sure this will be no issue, it’s our way to protect such a large order from false credit card purchases. Also when/If this occurs our shipper can work directly with police providing the drop off address to provide police with the necessary info.
I’m sure this will benefit your company as it protects you against fraudulent orders made with your credit card.
Alternatively you may send us a certified check or money order for the amount and your shipping/freight company can be used. Thanks again
Frances Howes
It’s easy to tell your friends to…
“View it Here”
FUNNY! I never heard back! If you happen to run an internet business and are excited because you thought you got a huge sale – take a deep breath and research your buyer! Get a phone number, talk to them directly, research the info provided! It’s easy to “google” someone (everyone does it). Always remember if it seems too good to be true….it usually is!
I hope this post helps in educating online businesses on this particular order scam – I’d hate to hear of someone falling for it and then finding out they are out of pocket – not only for the merchandise shipped but also for the shipping quote!!





















SocialVibe